Abdominal Quadrants


To make the location of the organs in the great abdominopelvic cavity easier, anatomists divided the abdominopelvic cavity into nine regions, as follows:

  Upper abdominopelvic
  Tummy Tuck Medium
  Lower Tummy Tuck
At the ninth rib level Between the ninth ribs and the
hip bones
At the higher level than
hip bones
Right Hypochondriac Region
Epigastric Region
Left Hypochondriac Region
Right Side Region
Umbilical Region
Left Side Region
Right Inguinal Region
Pubic (Hypogastric) Region
Left Inguinal RegionThe

Another simpler way to divide the abdominopelvic cavity is in Four Quadrants.

This method is often used to locate a pain or describe the location of a tumor. The sagittal, median and transverse planes pass through the navel and divide the abdominopelvic region into the following four quadrants:

New Image (2)