The head consists of the skull, face, scalp, teeth, brain, cranial nerves, meninges, special sense organs, and other structures such as blood vessels, lymphatics, and fat. It is also the place where food is ingested and air is inhaled and exhaled.

The bones of the head are divided into: two parts: the Neurocranium and the Facial Skeleton (Viscerocranium) . The neurocranium provides the casing for the brain and brain meninges, proximal parts of cranial nerves, and blood vessels.

The skull has a vault-like roof – the Calvaria – and a floor or base of the skull that is composed of the sphenoid and parts of the occiput and temporal.

The Facial Skeleton consists of bones that surround the mouth and nose and contribute to the orbits.

Are you ready to test your knowledge? Then click below to take the quiz on the subject.
Continue your studies on related systems